Children’s car seats and booster seats
Seat belts are by design made to hold us in our seat in case of a crash but for a child this is not always the case. Children who not properly restrained in a crash could cause serious injury or death. Therefore the State of Ohio has passed laws regarding the use of booster seats and car seats for children. Children younger than 8 years of age, unless they are at least 4 feet 9 inches tall, must use a booster seat. This is in combination with the existing law requiring children younger than 4 years and less than 40 pounds to use a child safety seat, and children 8 to 15 years old to use a safety seat or seat belt. .
Fines for this violation range from $25 to $75 per infraction.
The Ohio Buckles Buckeyes (OBB) program provides child safety seats to eligible low-income Ohioans and can be reached at 1-800-755-GROW(4769) to find the OBB program nearest you.
The Village of Ottawa does have a curfew ordinance for all persons under the age of 18.
Per Ottawa Ordinance 531.01: No minor over the age of fourteen (14) but under the age of eighteen (18) shall remain in or upon a public place or establishment between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. Sundays through Thursdays or 12:00 midnight and 6:00 a.m. on Fridays and Saturdays. Also, no minor under the age of fourteen years shall remain in or upon any public place or establishment between the hours of 10:30 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. the following morning.
There are exceptions to this Ordinance however and they are as follows:
1. Any person who has graduated from an accredited high school regardless of age.
2. Any minor accompanied by a parent, guardian or responsible adult.
3. A minor who is running an emergency errand for the minor’s family as directed by the minor’s parent or guardian.
4. Any minor who lawfully is employed during hours of curfew, while returning home directly and immediately after employment.
5. Any minor who lawfully is engaged in carrying newspapers during hours of curfew who after completing the newspaper route the minor returns directly and immediately home.
6. Any minor attending a civic, school sponsored, or religious function, which the minor has been invited to or is expected to attend, if after the function ends, the minor returns directly and immediately home.
Parents have a responsibility to make sure that their minors are adhering to and abiding to this Ordinance. This Ordinance is to insure the safety of your child(ren) and does not replace or change the primary responsibility of your child(ren)’s safety by you, the parent.
Employers also have a responsibility to make sure that they themselves and their employees are not in violation of this Ordinance.
Any law enforcement officer who finds a minor apparently violating any provision of this chapter shall obtain from such minor information concerning the minor’s name, age, address and the name of the minor’s parent, parents, guardian or custodian. The police officer shall release the minor to the custody of the parent, guardian or responsible party, or to the juvenile authority in the county having jurisdiction over the case. Information obtained from the minor, together with any pertinent facts, shall be forwarded by the officer to the proper Juvenile Court having jurisdiction in the minor’s case within five days, and if the officer is requested, the officer shall file a complaint against the child, the child’s parent or parents, guardian or custodian or other person or persons involved. (Ottawa Ordinance 531.05)
You can see the complete Ordinance at, http://whdrane.conwaygreene.com/NXT/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm&vid=whdrane:OHOttawa
Texting while driving
If you are under the age of 18 it is unlawful for you to use an electronic wireless device while operating a motor vehicle.
This includes but not limited to:
Talking on cell phones, Bluetooth, Onstar, etc.
Computers, laptops, or tablets
GPS devices (unless controlled by voice or hands-free)
**** This includes if the minor is stopped in traffic or stopped at a traffic device or sign.
****** This is a primary offense, meaning that a Law Enforcement Officer can stop solely based this offense.
The bill can be read at the following address:
Probationary driver’s under the age of 17 years old and the number of occupants allowed in their vehicle.
Under Ohio law ap Probationary driver who is under the age of 17 years of age is ONLY allowed to have ONE non-family member occupant in the vehicle with them while driving unless a parent, guardian, or legal custodian is also in the vehicle. (More information can be found at http://bmv.ohio.gov/graduated_dl_teen_laws.stm#tog)